Why Smartwatches need a makeover

It all started with pebble in 2012 when all they raised $10.3 million USD. It was perhaps the first innovative smartwatch named as Pebble (Watch). The watch had 32mm 144 x 168 pixels transflective display manufactured by sharp. It was a welcome move in the world of smart gadgets with many possibilities in the future.

Then came Samsung with their Gear S(in 2013) with lots of features under the hood, back in those days. The watch had SIM support to make calls directly from the device. Then the likes of Sony and LG jumped into the market. In 2014, the android wear platform was announced at Google I/O with three new devices such as LG G Watch, Gear S Live and later that year the revolutionary Moto 360 First gen with the first ever circular display smartwatch. Later that year apple also introduced their first ever Apple Watch with WatchOS.20171111_160519

Though the smartwatch ecosystem in both the OS has grown significantly but as a Geek what frustrates me is the possibility which could be achieved with such wearable device which is currently just a piece of tech where we can apparantely see our phones notifications, take or end calls, navigate and regularly change watch faces. In this space I am pretty happy with Apple and Samsung who is constantly trying something new with their WatchOS and TizenOS. Unlocking my macbook with my Apple watch sometimes turns me on being a geek or paying my multiplex tickets with Samsung Pay gives me a feeling of “This guy is from the future”. Though I love these two gadgets a lot but still the type of flexibitly my smartphone offers to me compared to smartwatches is something we can never compare.

I feel after few years, maybe in 2022 we can see new possibilities with smartwatches. As we see the rise of Tesla Cars which has its own dedicated app. I hope to see that in future we can unlock our cars with our watches or maybe we could control drones with smart gestures integrated in our smartwatches? How cool would that be? But whatever it is I am maybe the only few people in the world who still do belive that smartwatches should be reinvented with some usefull functionality.

P.S: This is my first post so if you do encounter with any mistake then feel free to correct in the comments section and also comment about your thoughts what do you think should smartwatches be killed as a tech?

Leave a comment